6 Replies - 923 Views - Last Post: 28 January 2014 - 08:40 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Biggest changes going from VB6 to VB.Net

Posted 28 January 2014 - 12:43 PM

I started programming a LONG time ago. From 1994 to about 2003, I programmed a lot of VB6 code. Learning how to connect to a database was the hardest thing for me. I had finally gotten a grasp of it when VB6 changed to VB.Net, and with that change, I decided to leave VB programming and focus on MS Access development.

Well, the job market is lean and I need to refocus on VB.Net. I know most of it from my old knowledge. And, with help, I learned how to connect to MS SQL. It is still kinda rough. That is why I am here.

Now, having said all that, what would you say I need to prepare for in the culture shock going from VB6 to VB.Net?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Biggest changes going from VB6 to VB.Net

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Biggest changes going from VB6 to VB.Net

Posted 28 January 2014 - 12:47 PM

That's hard to say.. why not pick up a .NET book and go through it?

what would you say I need to prepare for in the culture shock going from VB6 to VB.Net?

Oh, and don't be bitter. Trying to learn something - while being bitter about having to learn it - isn't productive.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Dreaming Coder
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 January 2014 - 12:48 PM

They are two completely different languages. If you try to think of VB.NET as a simple successor to VB, you'll will find only pain and suffering. They share only some syntax similarities.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 28 January 2014 - 12:53 PM