11 Replies - 1320 Views - Last Post: 14 February 2014 - 05:05 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

[Help] Java Level Editor for 2D MMO

Posted 14 February 2014 - 09:39 AM

So considering that i have little to no experience programming editors. Where exactly would i start programming something like this. My friends are creating art for the project. I am just creating the level editor. If anyone could help me with the basics or help me through the whole process of coding it that'd be great. Also this game'll probably be released to the public for free via github or something... idk.
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [Help] Java Level Editor for 2D MMO

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: [Help] Java Level Editor for 2D MMO

Posted 14 February 2014 - 09:51 AM

You would need to start with knowing how your levels and engine interact. What's the data structure that is your level? An array of some sort of number or object? Then it's a matter of keeping that structure in mind, creating game objects, serializing them, and having the game 'read' them when it loads.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 14 February 2014 - 09:54 AM

So considering that i have little to no experience programming editors.

You're in way over your head. No offense. People with no programming experience will not succeed in making an MMO.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 14 February 2014 - 12:00 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 14 February 2014 - 09:54 AM, said:

So considering that i have little to no experience programming editors.

You're in way over your head. No offense. People with no programming experience will not succeed in making an MMO.