4 Replies - 1690 Views - Last Post: 15 February 2014 - 10:53 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

A little push.

Posted 14 February 2014 - 04:21 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm am new to this forum, i joined because i needed a little push as for I am confused.
Ok so here goes, I started learning C++ and learned a very little amount a while ago, because some people suggested it to me. I left if for a while due to family business i had to attend to. Now i wanted to continue but i realized i wont be able to make the projects i want. I want to make a POS system for a pizzeria restaurant (just to remind you i only know the basics of c++ so far and a little web development knowledge like css, html. this is an example of my web skills though not much www.canadianfavoritepizza.com its not advertisement because its a location specific thing not to attract traffic for money or anything).
anyway i was wondering if i should drop c++ and learn java. because i want to get into android development also. so would it be better to learn java first and then continiue c++.
also because c++ is used for very heavy programming and requires more time to program because its close to assembly. from what ive read online.
anyway should i drop c++, and learn java. also because ui i heard is easier in java. thank you for your time guys.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: A little push.

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: A little push.

Posted 14 February 2014 - 05:00 PM

If what you want is a website and pos then you should just hire a programmer
If you want to learn to program, then java might be easier than c++, but you'll be at least a Year getting up to speed. You can buy what you need quicker and cheaper than making it
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Posted 14 February 2014 - 07:20 PM

Stick with C++ since you've started IMO. But if you pretty much forgot everything, might as well go with Java if you want Android dev.