7 Replies - 2233 Views - Last Post: 21 February 2014 - 01:13 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

School Assignment: Anyone In Software Dev I Can Interview?

Posted 18 February 2014 - 02:52 AM

Hello,
I am in my first year of studying software development at the technical college in Appleton, WI. As part of my IT Careers class I need to interview someone who is working in my field. The idea is learn what the job is like from someone who has actually worked at writing software.

The interview can be done via email and would consist of 20-25 questions. The questions are all the basic who, what, when type questions: how did you get into this field, what was your schooling like, did it prepare you for the job, etc.

A little about me:
I first started getting interested in coding many years ago when everyone had an Angelfire personal webpage. I wanted to make a page but I didn't like how the default pages looked. So I Googled "how to html" and taught myself basic web design from there.

After making a few html-only pages I knew I needed more so I learned CSS and played with that for awhile.

Over the last year I have been learning a little PHP and plan on learning Javascript next. It's taken me a lot of time to learn even a little bit because I tend to be all over the place and can't focus on one thing at a time.

Finally I thought maybe it's time to go to school and learn this in a more structured environment. I went to an open house at the tech and talked to one of the IT instructors. He asked me the kinds of things I like to do so I told him I really like the coding and making things part of web design but I'm not really good at the making it pretty part. I also want to learn mobile app development and have some ideas for software that I'd like to create. I intended to sign up for the Web Development program but he talked me into the Software Development program.

I started school in January. I start my first programming class in the fall. We will be learning C#.