3 Replies - 1567 Views - Last Post: 05 March 2014 - 06:38 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What language to use for desktop software

Posted 05 March 2014 - 01:58 PM

Hi,
I am wanting to create some desktop software that requires interaction with a database and possibly work alongside a mobile app which hopefully will work on 3 platforms iOS, Android and Blackberry this app will have access to the database the desktop software uses

I haven't done anything like this before and would like to know what would be the ideal language to design the desktop software in? I have some experience with Java and PHP however I don't think either are suited for the task given that PHP is web language and Java desktop programs are dead (annoying given its cross-platform)

Does anyone have any thoughts on what I should use?

Thank you

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What language to use for desktop software

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What language to use for desktop software

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:09 PM

This is begging to be a "which language is best" topic war.

Now days most modern languages can do about all the same, just different.

Do you plan on running this in Windows? C#
Do you plan on running this on a Mac? Objective-C
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 05 March 2014 - 02:57 PM

The priority at the moment I feel is a Microsoft Windows based program then the mobile app and after that if there is a demand a desktop version for OS X
Is there a single language that would make all this possible? or at least the starting language for the Windows software being easiest to port to the mobile realm and OS X further down the line?