5 Replies - 1947 Views - Last Post: 19 March 2014 - 06:56 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help with direction for a small project

Posted 18 March 2014 - 09:35 AM

Hello, I'm very new to all of this coding adventure. I have experience with Sql. I am currently playing around inside Visual Studios trying to learn XAML and C#. I have currently already made two small cheesy Apps for Windows 8 Phone. I also plan on starting courses this summer for C++,C#.

I work at a Health Care for the Homeless in ABQ, we would like to be able to take a laptop out in the field with us and be able collect two Text boxes, Date and Geographic Coordinates. This would be via a VPN/RDP session.

My question is what is the best direction to create a desktop program that would collect 4 data points and send that to SQL Server?

There is no deadline for this project, just something we have been dreaming about. I have plenty of time to learn whatever needs to be learned. I am just trying to find the best path.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Help with direction for a small project

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Help with direction for a small project

Posted 18 March 2014 - 09:48 AM

Assuming you have some sort of wireless connection - host the database on a some web accessible host or server.. Make your app with your four textboxes.. when submit is clicked the app calls out to the web service, coughs up the four pieces of data, and the web service records it to the database.
Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 18 March 2014 - 10:01 AM

Thanks for the reply kind sir!

Yes, we use Veriozon MIFI to gain Internet Access. We even chart in our EHR out in the field. We just wanted to add these extra data points for a special report.

I will start researching about web service. Thanks for the suggestions.

Thomas
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog