2 Replies - 1417 Views - Last Post: 11 April 2014 - 10:34 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help setting up a portfolio

Posted 07 April 2014 - 09:11 AM

Hi there! I graduated college last year in May and, so far, have yet to snag a programming job. I've had countless interviews but nothing ever transpired. I think my biggest reason for that is not having any type of portfolio ready. Pretty much all of my projects have been school related, I really haven't done much on my own (I find I always have trouble coming up with ideas of things to program or I see the project as way too advanced for me and never even try to start it). I was just wondering where I can go to maybe work on some open-source stuff or maybe a site where I can look up start-up companies in my area and see if I can get my foot in the door that way. This weekend, I plan on making a website for my portfolio, just to have something up and running. Besides that, I'm working on learning Unity with some friends and we plan on making a simple puzzle game. Any advice for me for starting up the portfolio? Should I spruce up some school projects (like maybe put them into a GUI and make them a bit more advanced?) or work on totally new things? Thank you very much! :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Help setting up a portfolio

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Help setting up a portfolio

Posted 07 April 2014 - 09:18 AM

I really haven't done much on my own (I find I always have trouble coming up with ideas of things to program or I see the project as way too advanced for me and never even try to start it).

I can't help with you not starting project, but we do have a solid project lists sets:

Project Ideas

Martyr2 Mega Project List

I was just wondering where I can go to maybe work on some open-source stuff

Sure.. or have code on a public repository like github.