8 Replies - 1115 Views - Last Post: 19 May 2014 - 03:58 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Advice on Learning Web Development

Posted 17 May 2014 - 04:09 PM

Hello,

To begin with I am a high school student that is interested in learning more about programming. I have chosen to pursue web development, as it is apparently universal and a skill that will come in handy. Anyways, I was hopping to receive guidance on the best course of action in learning web dev for my circumstances ( which I believe many other high school students can relate to). I have a limited experience with C++ (the course only covered simple programs and was all text in a terminal type programs) and I have taken AP Computer Science A (for those who are not familiar with this course, it basically uses the Java language to introduce different concepts such as objects, polymorphism, methods, rucursive methods, and more). I am by no means a complete beginner to programming, and therefore I believe that it will be relatively easy to pick up the new syntax of web dev languages such as HTML, CSS, and Java script. I would appreciate advice on how to efficiently learn these languages without learning all the bare basics of the language such as the concept of variables and parameters for a method. Are there any courses (preferably videos) that I can learn from? What languages should I learn in dept? Roughly how long should I spend learning each language? I plan to learn the web dev languages (HTML, CSS, and Java script) and then move on to HTML5 to make something along the lines of a chat program or maybe a pong game.

Thanks, I know I am being very specific, but I hope that someone with experience can help guide me, because I am completely overwhelmed by web dev and all the combination of languages in web dev.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Advice on Learning Web Development

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Advice on Learning Web Development