3 Replies - 1888 Views - Last Post: 09 June 2014 - 10:51 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Career routes

Posted 07 June 2014 - 08:19 AM

Hi everyone!

I'd like to move careers into programming, currently I'm just an office admin. I do have an engineering degree which I hope helps a little, plus I've had some (very) limited exposure of C, HTML, and FORTRAN 90.

I am really bad at design / layout work so web design is out. Design of a program though, flow charts etc I think I'd like, I did a little of that learning about PLC at uni.

I was thinking perhaps Java (to learn OO) and SQL (for databases)?

I've seen the Khan Academy Javascript tutorial, but I'm not sure it would be the best place to start?

Any advice would be extremely welcome.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Career routes

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Career routes

Posted 07 June 2014 - 09:25 AM

Ok a few things...

1) Javascript is related to web design for the most part (not always but generally it is)
2) SQL will be a must because it is the language of databases and at some point or another you will be interacting with one.
3) Java is a great language to start with but look at several languages and just go with the one that feels right to you. Try a .NET language like C# or VB.NET or maybe a language like Python or Ruby. All are great languages to learn from.

I would suggest you go to the bookstore and take a look at several books. Read into them a little right at the store and if you find them easy to understand and learn, then buy the book. Then join a forum, like you have here, to ask any questions and help you get past problems and read tutorials online. Multiple different sources will certainly help you augment your learning.

:)
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 07 June 2014 - 09:36 AM

C# Learning Series, right here on DIC