10 Replies - 989 Views - Last Post: 26 June 2014 - 09:20 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Python2 or Python3? (New to programming)

Posted 23 June 2014 - 08:35 PM

Okay, so I'm completely new to programming and I want to start with python. I'm not sure if I should start with Python 2 or python 3. I figured since python2 has been around forever that it would have more online sources to learn it, but again I'm completely new to all of this, so could someone please point me in the right direction? Thanks
Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Python2 or Python3? (New to programming)

• Enhance Your Calm
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Python2 or Python3? (New to programming)

Posted 23 June 2014 - 08:38 PM

Generally speaking, unless you've got a very very compelling reason to stick to an outdated version, you'd want to go with the latest version.

Even if Python 2 has more sources to learn from, you are still learning an outdated version. Also, as Python is overall an extremely popular language, I don't really see you having trouble finding good resources on either version. The official Python docs, for example, are great for all versions.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 23 June 2014 - 08:43 PM

View PostAtli, on 23 June 2014 - 08:38 PM, said:

Generally speaking, unless you've got a very very compelling reason to stick to an outdated version, you'd want to go with the latest version.

Even if Python 2 has more sources to learn from, you are still learning an outdated version. Also, as Python is overall an extremely popular language, I don't really see you having trouble finding good resources on either version. The official Python docs, for example, are great for all versions.

Okay thanks for the input. I'll go with python 3
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 23 June 2014 - 08:47 PM