6 Replies - 2017 Views - Last Post: 04 July 2014 - 04:53 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

My area is bad for programming, but I'm low on exp. Will moving he

Posted 02 July 2014 - 08:10 PM

I've gone through my story here a couple times. I graduated with a Bachelors in Computer Information Systems close to 3 years ago. Unfortunately, I did no internships or networking while in college. I had a junior programmer job at a printing company 7 months out of college, but got laid off 10 months ago. Since then, I've been looking for work and learning languages. I have only 2 projects on Github, but I'm looking to put more up later. I've had a few interviews, but nothing panned out.

My main issue is that I don't have enough experience. Though I'm aiming for programming positions, I only got in a year and a half at my previous job. That was in an obscure language called FoxPro. Also, my degree was CIS. I didn't appreciate the difference between CS/CIS in college. I knew fairly early I wanted to program, but after transferring from Community College, a CS degree would have taken way longer and cost way more at that point. Now that I'm trying to learn all this extra stuff on my own, I feel I should have taken that hit and switched majors. Now I don't have the cash to go back (and don't want to take on more loans).*