1 Replies - 1683 Views - Last Post: 14 August 2014 - 11:37 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Java EE: What should i use, for what thing

Posted 13 July 2014 - 05:50 AM

Hello everyone,

I'm kinda new to J2EE, and everything is still mixed up in my mind, I started first by learning, Servlets then JSP, which seemed to me like a simple PHP and HTML stuff, and as i wanted to get to know J2EE better, i found out this new JSF, which i read was a replacement(or an upgrade) of JSF, then, more terms came on, like EJB, JPA, CDI ... everything got mixed up and i'm so confused, what are the essential things that should i learn?? everything?? In what order??

and if JSF is really a replacement or JSP and Servlets, why do many people still use them?

Thank you.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Java EE: What should i use, for what thing

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Java EE: What should i use, for what thing

Posted 14 August 2014 - 11:37 AM

I can sympathise. Java EE is huge.

So, people might talk about applications that are based in browsers, that connect to databases, and so on, as 3-tier: You have your database, your web server, and your client. A client might be a browser but could equally be a desktop application or another server. Java EE is a server framework. All of your acronyms help you to connect to databases, and display content to clients, and do lots of other stuff more easily. You have a double-edged sword: you can pick and choose the different parts of the framework to suit your project, but it's harder to know "how to start".