How to deal with a failed programming test?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

25 Replies - 14800 Views - Last Post: 17 July 2018 - 02:48 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: How to deal with a failed programming test?

Posted 02 August 2014 - 03:13 PM

View Postastonecipher, on 02 August 2014 - 02:51 PM, said:

tlhIn`toq I believe a lot of that mentality comes from the military background. I have been told I am not very tactful and I don't much care. And I also agree that college kids believe they are now due a higher paycheck justfor finishing, some think it just for attending. And my experience says that it is not just is development, but in everything. I have actually watched people say they wanted $60k a year for an entry-level position in construction, because "they went to school for it."

I think you're missing a key word there: SOME college kids believe they are due a higher paycheck.

I'm a college graduate and I personally expect nothing more than an entry level position as I consider college to be the first step in a learning experience.

For a first graduate job I would ask for 18,000 to 22,000 maximum, then as I get experience I could ask for more.

It seems like college grads get a bad wrap, and I can see why, but we're not all the same.

I'd be happy being offered ANY position in software development as long as the wage was livable and there were opportunities for advancement.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 August 2014 - 03:22 PM

Two separate but notable things, my experience is in the US and while I could say some, lately those are the exceptions not the rule.

Across the pond it could be different.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 August 2014 - 04:09 PM

View Postastonecipher, on 02 August 2014 - 03:51 PM, said:

tlhIn`toq I believe a lot of that mentality comes from the military background.