Thoughts on CS at University - mature student.

• (2 Pages)
  • +

20 Replies - 3196 Views - Last Post: 18 August 2014 - 05:51 AM

• D.I.C Head
  • member icon

• View blog

Thoughts on CS at University - mature student.

Posted 10 August 2014 - 12:58 PM

EDIT - Balls the title should have included self study :/

Wasn't sure of the best area for this post, and hopefully it's not completely "how longs a piece of string"

I'm 28, and I've got the option of going to College for a year, then going to University to study CS.

I'm wondering what the thought's were about this path versus self study.

Currently I'm teaching myself maths (much needed) and Python. My background is in music, I was a competent and proficient producer for a few years. I know the link is tenuous, but it was all self taught, so I know that focus and application can yield some decent results.

I don't think that a corporate job would be what I'm after - and as my academic background is pretty thin I'd also pretty much rule out using Programming in a field that was coupled with much Science. My main motivation is creation really, I'm not sure how to phrase that without sounding like a floppy tool. But the idea of making something for someone is very motivating (for me). So some sort of application production might suit.

So time wise that would put me around 33 when I finished University. I'm with my parents at the moment which is giving me support to reformat my brain a bit, so that might give some more weight to self study I'm not sure. I could have a year or so to self study I would have thought. But I would need to make some kind of schedule / plan to talk through with the folks, otherwise they'd just think I'd dropped out before I started.

I don't really know anyone who's heavily in the field, so It's hard to bounce ideas like these off people with experience (other than via a forum such as this)