6 Replies - 1369 Views - Last Post: 16 September 2014 - 07:49 PM

• Gentleman of Leisure
  • member icon

• View blog

Work Life Balance and Career Changes

Posted 04 September 2014 - 07:55 AM

So lately I have been contracting for about 4 months, left a steady full time job in favor of life in the fast lane with more compensation and an opportunity to do what I love to do - Open Source stack in a development environment I am comfortable in.

Lately the recruiters have been hounding me non-stop (Courtesy of LinkedIn) knowing that my contract is set to either expire, become renewed or I get offered FTE with my current company, I decided to play the field and see what else is out there. Well it backfired - I received 4 phone interviews and 2 in-person interviews within the week. Of the 4 phone interviews I was invited to 3 more In-person interviews. All of them significantly more in compensation. This is too good to be true right? Well here in lies the problem:

First in-person was a 4 hour interview for a large company located 1 hour away on a clear day. Not only is the 1 hour commute each way an issue, with no remote option (this was the deal breaker) but I was expected to take a 1/2 day off work (with no pay) for this in-person (second interview). After looking a little deeper, while this company had good Glassdoor reviews: It was back in .NET world (Meaning pain in the ass to get a Linux VM working well with it or installing a Windows VM on a Macbook if they let me use mine) Too many cons, easy choice I respectfully declined.

Second in-person interview was a 45 min interview that went well, good place to work but a little more leaning towards out of comfort zone doing game development with languages I am familiar with, however never really done the game-development using Canvas, Javascript and a little bit of Python. (I may or may not pursue this further.