3 Replies - 885 Views - Last Post: 26 September 2014 - 11:55 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Web Development Intern Question

Posted 26 September 2014 - 10:24 AM

Ok, let me start this question off by stating the situation I am in. I am currently a sophomore in college pursuing a Computer Science degree. My eventual goal in life is to become a software engineer at one of the tech giants. I am currently an IT intern in a corporate environment working for the state. It's not a typical internship, and I basically work part time even when I am in school. I have already been here about 6 months now. My job pertains to Desktop Support, helping people fix their computer issues that work here, so it doesn't necessarily help me with programming.

At my work location we also have web developers that I may get the chance to intern under. What my question is, will being a web developer intern help me if I want to get more into the software side of things? I don't want my resume to get glossed over because my intern experience isn't relevant. While we're at it, will any hiring manager take my Desktop Support internship seriously just because it is in I.T.?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Web Development Intern Question

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Web Development Intern Question

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:27 AM

Development, whether for online, systems, or desktop is a similar process.

Have you started a portfolio that shows what you can do? That will play a role in getting a position as well.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Beginner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 26 September 2014 - 11:28 AM