5 Replies - 914 Views - Last Post: 01 October 2014 - 09:58 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Where should I start - adjust areas of monitor color in background

Posted 30 September 2014 - 08:49 PM

I'm a college student that has completed the 1st 2 classes, intro to programming and Algorithms, both in Java. I've written some simple programs outside of class that requires some self study - e.g. quick address book app with GUI from JavaFX and data stored in H2with JDBC. All those programs are ultimately easy, but kind of useless.

Currently, my OSX computer screen has blotches of color on it due to a damaged screen. On a dark background, they show up slightly lighter, and on a white background, they show up slightly yellow. I wonder if it would be possible to build an application to control the color of the spot so that it will match the background as closely as possible. I probably want it to end up running as a daemon, but right now would be happy to just get it started.

I understand that at my current level, learning everything to build this and actually coding it is going to take me a long time, but I think it will be good experience. The problem is, there is so much that I don't know about programming and how the computer actually works that I have no idea where I should start. I think i can get a colors map by taking samples from something like photoshop, but once i find the correlation between colors of the spot and the rest of the screen, where should I go next? Since I want it to run like a daemon, Java is probably out as a language to use. Would C, or some other language be better? Also, how would I manipulate just the selected area of the screen? Is it related to the OS X operating system, or a particular library? Any advice for books, references or tutorials that's related to what I plan would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Where should I start - adjust areas of monitor color in background