12 Replies - 1894 Views - Last Post: 03 October 2014 - 07:58 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Wage Question

Posted 02 October 2014 - 10:44 AM

Hello, I have a question about what my hourly wage should be. I currently work multiple positions at a TV station. I work as a Master Control operator, Web Design, Engineer, and I run an Audio Board when we broadcast live. I know roughly what my wages should be for my Master Control Job, and on Audio. However, I am not as for sure on the Engineer and Web Design sides, so here are the details of what I do in those positions.

Engineer - I am there to fix anyone's computer that is broken, upgrade hardware of any machines that need it, build any scripts/programs we need or that is requested. Currently though I have been working on building an RDesktop server using a custom linux distro based around tinycore that my coworker has made. I have been using SDL, C++, and bash scripts to make the linux side more user friendly, and link thinks such as USB drives to the RDesktop server, since our thin clients only have 4gb of hard drive and 2gb of ram.

Web Design - I have been making "Smart Snippets", essentially plugins, for a website builder called bento. This site builder was provided to us by PBS, and has minimal functionality. Basically these "snippets" can be plugged in anywhere around the page, and should still function the same. An example of one of these snippets is an image carousel. The reason we are doing this is so whoever uploads the content to the site, and/or makes new pages, doesn't have to know any programming. I am using HTML, CSS, Javascript, JQuery, PHP, Django, and Sekizai Tags to build this.