7 Replies - 760 Views - Last Post: 07 October 2014 - 02:34 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Hey everyone! Newbie here.

Posted 06 October 2014 - 03:21 PM

Heya! My name's Stoyan, just registered, nice to meet you all!

Here's a bit of background about me:

I'm a designer by trade. I've been freelance designing for the past 7-8(?) years or so. I also do lots of online advertising and marketing, primarily as an affiliate.

Overall, the coding world seems extremely distant to me. I've always shunned away from all sorts of code, and I've outsourced everything that needed coding throughout the years ( and I continue to do so ).

I know some silly HTML & CSS, a bit of jQuery too, and I have coded my own designs in the past. Also, a long time ago ( in a galaxy far, far away ) I actually managed to get the hang of Action Script, but those days are now long gone, and so is all my knowledge of Action script.

I have also played around a little tiny bit with Pascal, Java and C, while I was studying at the university some years ago. Currently a dropout, left it right before I was to get my bachelors degree, and this was the best decision of my life.

Not long ago ( a few weeks back ), something struck me and I figured it was time to learn how to code. I figured it might be another useful skill to have, and who knows, maybe I'll even get fond of coding at some point.

I picked Python as a starting point. I'm not sure if this is a good idea, but I find the syntax to be much simpler ( for me, at least ) and easier to understand compared to C++ or Java, for example.

So far I'm going through Codeacademy's tutorials on Python and overall it feels very interesting - currently finishing the functions tutorial, and so far so good. The only thing that I found to be mind-bendingly confusing, for some reason, were those damn booleans.

I'm spending about 1-2-3 hours every night trying to learn Python instead of reading 'A Dance With Dragons' ( any Game of Thrones fans here? ).