5 Replies - 647 Views - Last Post: 08 October 2014 - 05:20 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What language to rebuild my Flash website in?

Posted 07 October 2014 - 10:40 PM

Hello all! As you can see, I am extremely fresh meat, and I'd like to build a flashy (no pun intended) portfolio site for my illustrations. Aside from cluelessly copying and pasting Actionscript tutorials into a Frankenstein's monster of a website, I have no experience with coding!

Two whole years ago I managed to almost-but-not-quite make my dream website in Flash. Almost, meaning that I ran into some kinks that I couldn't figure out, because I never properly learned the language to begin with. Then I realized that I probably shouldn't have been using Flash anyway, for several reasons (one of them being the ability to link to individual images, and another being that it's not iPad-friendly). So, I'd like to pretty much replicate my Flash website into another language--parallax scrolling, transparency, button rollovers, customizable tessellated hexagonal buttons and everything...

Said half-baked website: http://www.swfcabin....open/1363974125

I originally did this in Flash because I'm accustomed to working very visually, drawing shapes manually, etc., instead of typing them. I see now that that may not have been the best decision, however. And I haven't even really considered optimizing the site across platforms or what to host it on, etc....

Which language would be most suitable for remaking this website with? I'm hoping to dive right into learning the basics once I know where I should be headed.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What language to rebuild my Flash website in?

• Pragmatism over Dogma
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What language to rebuild my Flash website in?

Posted 07 October 2014 - 11:31 PM