10 Replies - 839 Views - Last Post: 24 October 2014 - 02:06 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Number of paths coordinate system

Posted 18 October 2014 - 11:02 AM

Hey everybody,

I've been pondering about this algorithm for about a week but I'm still
not able to write a "fast" working method/algorithm to solve the Number-of-paths-exercise we were
given in my class ://>

so here's the task:
Write an efficient java program "Paths" which solves the following task:
- Read input n ∈ N and give output a(n) which is the number of paths from (0,0) to (n,0)
it is not allowed to go over the diagonal (m,m) and also not below the x-axis (m,0)
here are the allowed steps:
u = (1,1), U = (1,4), d = (1,−1), D = (1,−4) and H = (1,0)
steps are performed in a two-dimensional-coordinate-system!

Well don't get me wrong, I may be new here and the first thing I do is asking to solve an exercise, but
I'm pretty much "new" to such exercises. I'm studying Software Engineering atm for 1.5years but we never talked about
programming algorithms and I never faced the problem that my code is not efficient enough.

I already made some guesses, maybe they're useful to build this program.
Thinking about the paths and the steps you are allowed to perform I decided to first draw some examples.
I used some tiny numbers like 3, 4, 5 hoping to find a sheme...
The next idea was to get "all" steps possible and erase the one which go beyond the allowed area like
building a binary truthtable with lets say five inputs which represent the steps.
But for now I don't really know where to start. I mean i cannot start programming unless I managed to
find a fitting, working, efficient algorithm for n=1000 or sth. like that.

I hope there's someone out there who is familiar with algorithms ://>
Thanks alot guys!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Number of paths coordinate system

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: Number of paths coordinate system

Posted 18 October 2014 - 11:15 AM