3 Replies - 692 Views - Last Post: 27 October 2014 - 08:48 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Program to add line numbers based on line contents

Posted 22 October 2014 - 08:00 AM

Hello, I'll preface this by saying I'm new to programming and I am currently taking a course where I there are assignments given in Python but we are not taught Python, so I've been attempting to learn, but it's been difficult without any previous programming knowledge. I apologize for what is most likely a very simple question.

I am trying to create a program that will read a file and based on whether the lines in that file contain a certain word, it is assigned a line number (First line would be 0, the next numbered line would be 1, etc.) or if the line does not contain one of these words it is not given a number.

An example would be:

File inputted

public x
ld 2
st 4
x: y:
dw 5

What would come out to standard output

public x
0 ld 2
1 st 4
x: y:
2 dw 5

Because "ld", "st", and "dw" are contained in the lines they are numbered, the others are not.

I am stuck on how to accomplish this adding of the line number. What I've tried to do is open the file, have each line added to a list. Then go through the list and if the line contains one of the key words I would want to add a number. As far as I know though, I cannot add the number to the line while it is in the list. So I thought maybe I could break each line up into it's own list (So each word would be a list entry) and then add the number in the beginning of the list and then make the list back into a single line later for printing. That would require me to make a list for every single line that had to be numbered though, and I know that's not the proper way of going about it and also the number of lists required would always change based on the inputted file.