6 Replies - 918 Views - Last Post: 04 November 2014 - 08:33 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

[Q] Entry level programming jobs/internships (no degree)?

Posted 02 November 2014 - 01:41 PM

Hello everyone!

I am currently a second year college student working towards my BS degree in computer science. My degree is not progressing at the speed I need however, and I would very much like to get a job or internship as soon as possible for the added experience. Would anyone be able to point me in the right direction in regards to searching for such a position? All of the programming positions I have been able to find so far require a degree or a number of years experience programming. I am currently teaching myself C++ and Java outside of my classes so that I can be ready for a job, but my lack of a degree or any real experience is dragging me down.

Any advice you guys can give would be much appreciated!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [Q] Entry level programming jobs/internships (no degree)?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: [Q] Entry level programming jobs/internships (no degree)?

Posted 02 November 2014 - 01:42 PM

Have you talked to your college counselor? They typically have job boards or are approached by folk who want less than normal experience.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#3 macosxnerd101   User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 November 2014 - 01:43 PM

I'd start with your CS department's advisers, as well as career services. Then hit the career fairs at your school and hunt for internships that way.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 03 November 2014 - 11:18 AM