13 Replies - 1132 Views - Last Post: 24 November 2014 - 11:03 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Succeed in the IT field without a degree?

Posted 24 November 2014 - 11:24 AM

Hello everyone,
I'm currently a freshman in college with a major in Computer Science with a concentration in Cyber Security. I've been put into two higher lever courses, Data Structures and Computer Algorithms, after talking to the head of the department. Now it's getting to the end of the semester and I'm scheduled for one computer science course next semester. But I'm a bit frustrated with college.

The head of my school's Math, Science, and Physics department waived the Intro to Computer Science and the Intro two computer programming courses I was supposed to take as a freshman after I told her my experience with programming.

I've been programming and working with computers since about fifth grade, every self taught basically because my school's computer classes weren't challenging enough. Eventually my grades in school started slipping because I knew what I wanted to study and pursue as a career but I was being taught it in school. I would catch myself daydreaming and thinking about bugs I have in my code or new ideas to implement when I get to my laptop.

Anyhow, come college and I told myself I wouldn't let myself slip because I would finally be challenged enough. But I'm starting to find myself feeling the same way I did in high school. I'm catching myself code in all of my classes cause we can have our laptops out. The two advanced classes I was put in aren't even as challenging as I thought it would be and the feel like high school honors classes or something similar.

Most if not all of what I know is self taught and I was wondering if it was possible to succeed in the IT field without a college degree by getting certifications on your own and proving you know what your doing through personal projects? Or possibly a different strategy?