5 Replies - 690 Views - Last Post: 22 December 2014 - 04:16 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Alternating itunes(any player) playlists... need direction

Posted 21 December 2014 - 01:01 AM

Ok so I took a programming 101 class years ago and I recently started learning C#. C# may not be the right language for this idea, but this is just a fun thing I want to do myself to learn, not something I want to outsource.

Project Objective:
I would like to be able to alternate playlists but still keep the order for each playlist random

Example:
I have 3 playlists: pop, punk, house

I want to be able to listen to music in this order:

random pop song
random punk song
random house song
random pop song
random punk song
random house song
random pop song

so essentially it would be

playlist A
playlist B
playlist C
playlist A
playlist B
etc.

but the choice from each playlist would be completely random

The user should be able to choose the playlists they want to include in the rotation.

The Point:
Shuffle feature is great, but often times I like to alterenate genre every other song. Unfortunately the only way i know to do this is to manually create playlists, and after some time the playlist will become stale.

It should be a relatively simple project, I just need some direction in what I should do to begin working on this project? Is this even possible in itunes, or will I need to use something like media monkey?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Alternating itunes(any player) playlists... need direction

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Alternating itunes(any player) playlists... need direction

Posted 21 December 2014 - 06:06 AM

If you tell iTunes to switch between playlists the randomizer will start over. Which means a song already played will get played again, and neither playlist will ever reach an end.

You could do something along these lines:

A - Ask user for a list of two or more playlist names.