5 Replies - 1217 Views - Last Post: 02 January 2015 - 05:59 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How can one determine one's potential in computer science?

Posted 27 December 2014 - 02:43 PM

I'd like to know how much potential I have to be skilled in computer science before going to college for it. Can I estimate my potential by comparing what I've learned and accomplished so far with what's reasonable for someone with potential in CS to have accomplished? If so, I've been learning about computer science for roughly two years and have spent a considerable amount of my free time doing so. What would be a reasonable set of accomplishments for me by this time?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How can one determine one's potential in computer science?

#2 macosxnerd101   User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How can one determine one's potential in computer science?

Posted 27 December 2014 - 02:49 PM

Moved to Student Campus.

You're not even in college yet. A lot of whether or not you will succeed in a CS major depends on how much you enjoy it and how hard you work. Aptitude is only a part of the equation. When you get to college, take some CS classes, but branch out as well. There is no quantification for whether or not you will succeed. Though some good indicators are:
-How good you are in math
-Your ability to program (if you have attempted to learn)

I did a lot of college level CS material in high school, and I switched from CS to math when I got to college. It was one of the best decisions I made. You may find yourself in another related (or even unrelated) field when you hit college.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 no2pencil   User is online

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 27 December 2014 - 03:29 PM

It could be said that one can accomplish anything that they set out to do.