5 Replies - 952 Views - Last Post: 31 December 2014 - 01:10 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What next...[The fears of a could be developer]

Posted 31 December 2014 - 02:05 AM

Hi all,

I have been coding sites on and off for around 10 years now, and always wanted to turn it into a full time career. The problem is I have no qualifications to speak of within web design. I have a part time job working in retail, and it is just making me want something more.

Recently I found the site developajob.com and they recommend using the following to prep for a course http://certifyguide.com/exam/1d0-61b/

Then moving onto the exam itself here http://certifyguide.com/exam/1d0-61b/

My question is, is it worth looking at these seriously? How far will they get me when looking at employment opportunities? Can I move into freelance work? Are they recognized by employers?

I really appreciate any feedback from you guys, or any alternatives you could suggest.

Happy New Year all!

Dean

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What next...[The fears of a could be developer]

• Professor Snuggly Pants
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What next...[The fears of a could be developer]

Posted 31 December 2014 - 05:11 AM

The sites that you are coding now, are they pay sites? 10 years is a long time & should be a growth of technologies & skill sets.

I wouldn't recommend paying for a certification from a website that no one has heard of. That is how the verification will be viewed.

Also, examples will show much more than any certification. I would suggest working on a good portfolio. At the end of the day, selling yourself to an employer is the same as selling yourself to a client in my opinion.

Lastly, your question isn't about school, it's about work & therefor should be moved to the corner cubicle.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 31 December 2014 - 05:34 AM

Thanks for your reply,