[laravel] Creating a messenger that can send to multiple users

• (2 Pages)
  • +

17 Replies - 1420 Views - Last Post: 04 January 2015 - 04:30 AM Rate Topic: -----

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

[laravel] Creating a messenger that can send to multiple users

Posted 02 January 2015 - 09:23 AM

Hi people of DIC,

I have a bit of a issue, well more the fact I don't know how to do something with in a framework (Laravel) and I can't seem to find the help online, mostly because I am not sure what to search for on Google.

I would like a messaging system on the app I am developing but I am very new to the Laravel framework and MVC of any form ....

Here is the part of migration that I am building at the moment for "call_logs".

Basically the idea of "call logs" as you can imagine is a call logging part of the program, the user that takes the call will take information and then send that info to the appropriate people.

Schema::table('call_logs', function(Blueprint $table)
    {
        $table->integer('id')->primary();

$table->integer('taken_by')->unsigned();
        $table->foreign('taken_by')->references('id')->on('users');

$table->integer('to')->unsigned();
        $table->foreign('to')->references('id')->on('users');

$table->string('title');
        $table->string('subject');
        $table->text('content', 2000);

$table->softDeletes();
        $table->timestamps();
    });

So I need 'to' to be some sort of array of users to send to, how is this achieved, also I don't want to have to come across the n+1 issue with saving the same message for multiple users.....how do I get around this.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: [laravel] Creating a messenger that can send to multiple users

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

Re: [laravel] Creating a messenger that can send to multiple users

Posted 02 January 2015 - 10:34 AM

I have redone this since as I think I may have found the answer, answers and comments will still be appreciated however.