8 Replies - 1306 Views - Last Post: 03 January 2015 - 10:54 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Changing Careers

Posted 02 January 2015 - 03:13 PM

Hi all,

I got a bachelor's degree in math a couple of years ago and set out to be an actuary, but to be honest I only chose it for the money. Recently I'm thinking about starting over in software/web development, and I'd really like to know how to get on the right track as a developer. My goal can be described in simple terms (although I'm not sure if the simplicity extends to the process itself): I want to be employed in a position where I can get meaningful experience and move forward.

I made a list of things that might give me a little head start:
-I've done some short term web development with basic HTML, CSS, PHP.
-I'm very good at math.
-I don't have a job right now so for the next few months I can devote 80 hours a week to learning.
-I like writing code to do things for me.

I'd really appreciate it if the readers of this post could share their experiences and resources. Specifically, I'd like to ask those in the industry, what are the skills I need for an entry level job? How many hours of learning will it take to be proficient enough to be employable? What are good areas of software development to get into?

Thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Changing Careers

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Changing Careers

Posted 02 January 2015 - 03:16 PM

Moved to Corner Cubicle.

Have you thought about data analytics and machine learning? You're already good at math and have a stats, so the only issue would be learning to program. MATLAB, Python and R are popular languages in this field.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 02 January 2015 - 03:19 PM

View Postmacosxnerd101, on 02 January 2015 - 03:16 PM, said:

Moved to Corner Cubicle.