Optional IDE for vbNET

(Microsoft Ide is slow, Sharpdevelop a bit faster, but!)

• (2 Pages)
  • +

19 Replies - 4068 Views - Last Post: 14 November 2007 - 08:37 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Optional IDE for vbNET

Post icon  Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:20 PM

ok, here's my first post

I like Visual Basic. a lot. it's simple an wonderfull. I like it's clear syntax.

The only problem I see is the IDE. I'm using two

(1) - Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
(2) - Sharpdevelop

Both are great IDE's and both are slowwwww to load.

I work as a software consultant and it happens to be that at moments I have to switch between three to five project at the same time and for the sake of clarity I just quit one then launch next. (always from zero (I mean a folder on the desk showing the project)).

I started to use (1) but it was too slow, then I used (2) but the same.

The question is:

Do exist some other way (apart of console mode) to program in visual basic (or any .net language at all) that gives me a project control but start up really fast.?

Is there some way to use another visual environment that it's faster even if not 100% compatible?

Can be created a module that allows visual studio 98 (the one that comes with VB6) to generate .net code? (I know it sound silly but I have a module that creates code to another language called euphoria)

Sorry for my english, its not my native language. But Im listening the Tech Five section in John C. Dvorak page every day to learn english a lot more.

Thanks in advance

Max Herment

by the way! my machine is an AMD Athlon 3100 - 64 bits (running 32bits xp) and I have a fast video card (nvidia Gforce 7300 GS with 256MB) My hard disk is Paralel ATA and I thing it's a good machine.

I've tried the IDE's on faster machines at my client locations but the problem is the same!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Optional IDE for vbNET

• Barbarbar
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Optional IDE for vbNET