5 Replies - 841 Views - Last Post: 20 January 2015 - 11:10 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Simple price calculator in VB - help is needed

Posted 18 January 2015 - 02:06 PM

Hi guys,

is there anyone that could help me to improve my code? I have developed an online bookshop for a software development project for UOL, and as part of it I created a programming stub for calculating the total price of the chosen books. I am pretty new to programming, and I am not too good at it, however I tried very hard to create what I wanted.
There are two problems with the code:

1. I can only add two prices, however people should be able to buy a lot more if they want (if I add more than the result is already incorrect. Why?) Is there any possibility to add three or more books altering the code only slightly?

2. When I check if valid price is entered than occures the next issue. If the price is invalid than there is going to be a message to the user, but that is not able to get back to enter the price again (now the correct one) - and I do not find at the moment how I could solve this problem. Any idea?

The code is also here (made by Visual Basic 2010):

Thank you for the help! :)/>
Public Class Form1
    'Declaring variables: Price1 for the first price the user enters, Price2 for the second price the user enters. Add is for adding the prices together.
    Private Price1 As Single
    Private Price2 As Single
    Private TotalPrice As Single
    Private Add As String
    'This is the zero button (by clicking on it 0 will appear in txtDisplay).
    Private Sub btn0_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btnzero.Click
        txtDisplay.Text = txtDisplay.Text + btnzero.Text
    End Sub
    'This is the 1 button (by clicking on it number 0 will appear in txtDisplay).
    Private Sub btn1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btn1.Click
        txtDisplay.Text = txtDisplay.Text + btn1.Text