10 Replies - 1050 Views - Last Post: 02 February 2015 - 10:27 PM Rate Topic: -----

#1 Bluezap   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 440
  • Joined: 19-January 12

Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 11:16 AM

Hi,

So I've requested help from Xamarin on this issue but haven't received any responses for nearly a month now and I can't believe no one else has complained about this before, Any help would be much appreciated.

When I drag a control onto the Xamarin studio layout the control just slides back into the toolbox again. The only way to add controls is to edit the .axml file which is not at all ideal.

I have tried re-installing all the components again multiple times and even tried out using a different computer, still no luck. And does anyone know how to use the mono framework on the Visual studio IDE and build the apk using Xamarin studios?

Details -

Xamarin studio 5.7
Tested on Windows 8, 8.1 and 7

Thank you.

This post has been edited by Bluezap: 01 February 2015 - 11:18 AM


Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Cannot place controls on the layout

#2 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 14488
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58,092
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 11:17 AM

I have never had this problem. What is the control you are trying to place these in?
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#3 Skydiver   User is online

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 6501
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22,245
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 11:27 AM

And on the meta level, how is this a C# question? Sounds like an issue with an IDE. XAML is not C# specific, nor is it IDE specific.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#4 Bluezap   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 440
  • Joined: 19-January 12

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 11:31 AM

View Postmodi123_1, on 01 February 2015 - 11:17 AM, said:

I have never had this problem. What is the control you are trying to place these in?

No control can be dragged into the layout. They all just slide back into the toolbox.

Are there any other details I can provide to see what the issue is?

View PostSkydiver, on 01 February 2015 - 11:27 AM, said:

And on the meta level, how is this a C# question? Sounds like an issue with an IDE. XAML is not C# specific, nor is it IDE specific.

Sorry about that, didn't know where to post this. Figured since Xamarin is C# based I post it here.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#5 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 14488
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58,092
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 11:35 AM

Quote

Are there any other details I can provide to see what the issue is?

Why are you are asking me for details? It's hard to debug the "my ide doesn't work" from afar without knowing/seeing what is going on. Maybe you didn't add a layout. Maybe you have some borked project setup. etc.. etc.. etc.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#6 Bluezap   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 440
  • Joined: 19-January 12

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 11:42 AM

No I meant, are there any other details that you would like me to provide you with to see what the issue is.
there are no errors the IDE doesn't seem to function and I can't figure out why.
I know it's very vague, If Xamarin replies with a reason/solution I will post it here.
Thanks :)/>

This post has been edited by Bluezap: 01 February 2015 - 11:44 AM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#7 tlhIn`toq   User is offline

  • Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

Reputation: 6535
  • View blog
  • Posts: 14,450
  • Joined: 02-June 10

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 02:42 PM

Quote

The only way to add controls is to edit the .axml .xamlfile which is not at all ideal.


Really? Because that's pretty much how everyone I know that gets paid to develop does it. Dragging has too many problems: Automatically assuming margins and so on. There is more work involved in cleaning up the XAML after drag/dropping than if you just add the control directly in the XAML from the start.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#8 Skydiver   User is online

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 6501
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22,245
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 01 February 2015 - 10:35 PM

Yes. Most pros prefer to hand edit the XAML. As I understand things from some of the older interviews with the WPF and Silverlight designers, one of the goals for XAML was to make things so easy that notepad would have been sufficient -- no extra tooling needed.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#9 modi123_1   User is online

  • Suitor #2
  • member icon



Reputation: 14488
  • View blog
  • Posts: 58,092
  • Joined: 12-June 08

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 02 February 2015 - 07:32 AM

.. or Blender!
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

#10 Skydiver   User is online

  • Code herder
  • member icon

Reputation: 6501
  • View blog
  • Posts: 22,245
  • Joined: 05-May 12

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 02 February 2015 - 07:46 AM

Most of the pros I know do their experiments in Blend on a side project, and then when they are happy with the results, they copy and paste the values over into their actual project. Which is ironic since the original vision was that the Developers would work on the model using Visual Studio, while the designers worked on the view using Blend and they could work simultaneously without having to bug each other -- just let the source control system do the merging. In practice, I've heard that the designers end up sending their parallel project over to the devs so that the devs can incorporate the changes into the official source tree.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

#11 Bluezap   User is offline

  • D.I.C Regular

Reputation: 1
  • View blog
  • Posts: 440
  • Joined: 19-January 12

Re: Cannot place controls on the layout

Posted 02 February 2015 - 10:27 PM

Blend was an amazing idea, Never thought of using it like that.
This is awesome thanks!
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

Page 1 of 1