2 Replies - 545 Views - Last Post: 18 February 2015 - 04:16 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Design / best practices re normalization

Posted 17 February 2015 - 04:25 PM

I'm not a programmer nor overly technical but based on other postings I suspect someone here can provide appropriate direction. I have a web based application and am being told that I should change the design of one of my tables. It is a "settings" table that defines numerous aspects of the sites optional behaviors. Currently, the table design is as below. Some of the data elements are values, others are a boolean where 1= Yes and 0 = No. Every time we add a new setting we change the table design by adding a new column. At this point, the table has about 25 columns (25 different settings) but only 20 rows (20 different clients). It seems we add more columns (new settings) than we do rows of data (client entries)

ClientID------PageLogo------DisplaySignIn---------DisplayTimer-------PrintBarCode------TopButtonURL--------------------------etc.

AA....... ......aalogo.jpg.....................1............................1........................1..................../page1
1X..............1Xbiglogo.jpg...............1............................1.........................0...................../newpage
Z5.........-....aalogo.jpg...................0............................0.........................1....................../www.thispage

It has been suggested this "settings" table should look like below, This table design never changes, has only 4 columns, but hundreds of rows.

SettingID----------ClientID----------Setting--------------------Value

1............................AA...................ParkLogo....................aalogo.jpg
2............................AA...................DisplaySignIn....................1
3............................AA...................DisaplyTimer....................1
4............................AA...................PrintBarCode....................1