Bachelor of software engineering (mathematics and physics)

• (2 Pages)
  • +

18 Replies - 1837 Views - Last Post: 22 February 2015 - 10:10 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Bachelor of software engineering (mathematics and physics)

Posted 20 February 2015 - 11:32 AM

I graduated from high school several months ago and I found my way to software engineering. After taking a deep breath, I decided to go for bachelor of software engineering. I consulted an educational offices which is specialized in education and they recommended me that I'm not able to go for software engineering bachelor program. I was shocked, the argument was that my math and physics aren't sufficient even if the university accepted me. I studied math in high school except for the last 3 semesters, where I majored in (linguistics and the human sciences).I wasn't bad at math or have bad grades at all or can't understand math, but like I mentioned, they claim that I need prior advanced knowledge of math and physics from high school. Even though I'm going to study abroad, which means the system can differ and it does indeed, how could a university start from an advance level anyhow and it's not linked to the high school in which I studied anyway? Put another way, if that university started from an advance level of math, because they're assuming the students already have prior understanding from high school, what about those who discontinued their education for several years? They forgot most of the story?

I decided to look for the subjects and all the details from the university. I noticed there's no rocket science there. Here's a list of each year and its subjects that the students are going to take:

Bachelor of software engineering:

*First year:

Introduction to Computer,
**Preliminary course to calculus**,
**Algebra and Trigonometry**,
Orientation Program, Basic Chinese Listening,
Basic Chinese Speaking,
Essential English Writing,
Object-Oriented Programming,