9 Replies - 1637 Views - Last Post: 03 March 2015 - 12:21 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Software Engineers Enter

Posted 02 March 2015 - 07:18 PM

Hey everyone...I apologize in advance if this is the wrong section but I don't think I could find a more appropriate section.

I am finishing my Bachelors Degree in Computer Science with an emphasis on Software Engineering. My ultimate goal is to become a software engineer.

I just interviewed for a large local software company that is known for always hiring software engineers and being a pretty good place to work.

I didn't get the job...

Here's my issue. I have no real world experience. I feel like most companies want internships. The questions he asked me were questions that were real-world type programming situations, not things they teach in school. I work full time and go to school full time so I cannot apply for any type of internships because I have a family to support.

I'm just looking for some advice. What would you do if you were in my situation?

This post has been edited by rleonekc: 02 March 2015 - 07:18 PM

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Software Engineers Enter

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Software Engineers Enter

Posted 02 March 2015 - 07:19 PM

There are a ton of variables... so the scatter shot approach:
  • Apply for more jobs elsewhere.
  • See if you can figure out where the interview went wrong.
  • Maybe they were filled up, and you should try again.
  • Create a github and throw out some well polished code.
  • Be better prepared for the interview.

Was This Post Helpful? 2
  • +
  • -

#3 macosxnerd101   User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 02 March 2015 - 09:19 PM