4 Replies - 634 Views - Last Post: 01 April 2015 - 11:49 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Completely New to the World of Code. Career Change

Posted 31 March 2015 - 05:25 PM

I just wanted to say hello to the massive coding community here. Let me start with a giant "I am not worthy!" to you all. Everything is still very daunting to me, and shrouded in mystery. But its something thats extremely intriguing.

Brief background:

-27 yrs Old
-I live in the North East (hour and a half from NYC)
-Bachelors in Science: Minor in Computer Animation
-Worked in Military Training and Simulation for 5 years. (Disliked my company, left Orlando, FL to move back up North)
-Computer Animation Field is no longer lucrative for me. Over saturation of workers to jobs has created an extremely flooded market. My thoughts to change careers came in time.
-Fathers a programmer. (Store Retail Operations)

I am new to coding. Web development is where I want to focus myself on. Creating web applications for companies/people to make their lives easier and more accessible to the masses is something I can be really passionate about.

I am looking to attend FullStack Academy of Code: http://fullstackacademy.com come July. They teach Full Stack Javascript web development in a 24 week Flex course. First half learning Javascript, JQuery, etc. Second half devoted to personal project creation for employers.

I hope to be around here a lot in the next coming months. I'll have a ton of questions for your all. I hope you are willing to take the time out to explain the very basics (and hopefully as time goes on more Advanced knowledge) to a NOOB like myself.

Thanks beforehand, I'll see you all in the trenches!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Completely New to the World of Code. Career Change

• D.I.C Regular

• View blog

Re: Completely New to the World of Code. Career Change

Posted 01 April 2015 - 08:26 AM

View Post/n.colavita, on 31 March 2015 - 08:25 PM, said: