5 Replies - 833 Views - Last Post: 04 April 2015 - 11:42 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How Would You Re-Create A Game?

Posted 04 April 2015 - 01:24 AM

Hey guys, I am just starting to learn C++ (I have a lot of experience making games but never anything insanely complex, and always through premade engines.) I just wanted to ask you guys a question about how you learnt how to make games. I have an idea for a game that I wanted to try and make that uses features from other games and smashes them into one big super game. Mt first instinct is to try and recreate a simple version of a few of these games to understand how the mechanics work alone before combining everything... One problem, how?

The first game I wanted to (for lack of a better word) clone, for personal research would be Shopping Cart Hero. I just have no idea where to start. Does anyone know of any source code from the app that I can read or anything similar to this. Or even just a nudge in the right direction?

Thankyou for your response in advance :)

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How Would You Re-Create A Game?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How Would You Re-Create A Game?

Posted 04 April 2015 - 07:16 AM

Mt first instinct is to try and recreate a simple version of a few of these games to understand how the mechanics work alone before combining everything... One problem, how?

How what? You grab a pen and paper and begin to outline the mechanic you want to you make a proof of concept for. What it does, how it operates, what it interacts with, how the user triggers it, etc. Once you have scoped that out you can sit down and recreate the design in code.

Does anyone know of any source code from the app

Unless the make gave out the code on git hub, or somewhere similar, it is not polite to try and snatch/grab the app's code.

Or even just a nudge in the right direction?