codeacademy vs learn the hard way vs Online degree

• (3 Pages)
  • +

41 Replies - 5461 Views - Last Post: 15 May 2015 - 07:54 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

codeacademy vs learn the hard way vs Online degree

Posted 27 April 2015 - 09:09 AM

Hey guys I am new to writing code and want to break into it.

I went to a university and got my degree in history with a minor in economics and an Master of Business Administration.

I am one of those guys that love to consume knowledge and I want to get into writing code and perhaps go start a career path in it. I had always been interested in learning to code but chose the history path while in school then got my MBA. Presently I am working part time at a small company as an assistant controller. In addition to handling finances they have me doing several other jobs giving me any task that needs to be done ASAP. Recently my boss asked me if i know how to code as well as develop websites. So I decided to explore an old interest.

I Got on codeacademy.com and leaning some code there. I flew through the HTML/CSS class in less than a week and have started on the python class.

Now that I got a taste of it I would love to learn more. I was wondering if I were to really shoot for getting a job in web development Programing or an IT field in some other type.

Can I learn everything on my own? If so is codeacademy a good resource or is learn the hard way better?
Also if I need a degree what is a good online school for Information Technology? Is CTU Good.

My Friend told me that at this point in my career when it comes to Web design and web development I should be able to pretty much be able to learn it on my own and just let my body of work speak for itself. The degree would be a waste of time and money especially if I was to do freelance work or work for the company i am already employed. He said If I really wanted to get a certificate or associates at most.