5 Replies - 779 Views - Last Post: 03 May 2015 - 03:41 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Need some guidance

Posted 03 May 2015 - 10:31 AM

I feel like there is no single answer to what I am about to ask, as it is really a very general question. However I do not know enough to ask for any specifics, hoping to be pointed in the right directions. I know there are already tons of info out there for people to get into the industry, but I feel like my situation needs direct answers.

I am a soon to be 29 year old. I suffer from social phobia and depression since high school, so I am pretty much a loner with no connections. I received my Bachelors of Arts in Computer Science back in 2010. I have zero experience in the field. I am currently working in an office job that I hate since my first day. I really wish to change my life, and enter the field.

The only coding I know is in C++, and getting rusty already. I do not mind starting over, but I honestly have no clue how to approach the field. There are just so many different languages which branch further away.

I know a lot of what to do next depends on where my interest is in the field, and where I want to go, but that is exactly what I do not know. I have asked this before in a different forum, but the answers did not get me anywhere. Hoping with my background above, people can get an idea of where I am at, and would be able to answer my below still very general questions.

Is there any coding language I should focus on? What should I be doing to help me get started in the field?

Thank you for reading.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Need some guidance

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Need some guidance

Posted 03 May 2015 - 10:35 AM

I received my Bachelors of Arts in Computer Science back in 2010. I have zero experience in the field. I am currently working in an office job that I hate since my first day.