7 Replies - 910 Views - Last Post: 07 May 2015 - 12:09 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

VB.NET saving excel file issue

Posted 06 May 2015 - 03:24 PM

Hi, This is my first post so hopefully I have explained myself well enough. Basically Ive got a datagridview that takes information from multiple textboxes on a form and should loop round and save them into an excel file. However when I save the excel file I get the issue of if the user clicks "No" or "Cancel" instead of over writing the file like I had intended them to do as it is extracted daily to another excel file. It basically causes the system to jump out. I don't know much about the saving of files in VB as its my first time tackling the problem I just need to get the code to not jump out if the user clicks no or cancel when given the option to overwrite the file. Really hope you guys have an idea everything Ive tried hasn't worked. The code will be posted below.

Imports Excel = Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel

Public Class Dailyreport
    Private Sub Submitbtn_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles Submitbtn.Click

Dim regDate As Date = Date.Now()
        Dim strDate As String = regDate.ToString("ddMMMyyyy")

''This will allown the hidden form Exceldump to make its datagrid global then populate it with values from the textboxes.
        Exceldump.DataGridView1.Rows.Add(Advisor1txtbox.Text, Advisor2txtbox.Text, Extraadvisortxtbox.Text, Advisor1combo.Text, Advisor2combo.Text, Extraadvisorcombo.Text, Callstxtbox.Text, Escalatedcalltxtbox.Text, PATcalltxtbox.Text, Opentxtbox.Text, Roomcheckcombo.Text, Surveytxtbox.Text, strDate)

''This code will simply display a message box so users will understand which option to take.
        ''The box is placed before the actual save so that the user will know before the program has a chance to display its option.