8 Replies - 1628 Views - Last Post: 16 June 2015 - 01:03 PM

Poll: [Link] StackOverflow Survey: Nearly Half of Developers Self-Taught (24 member(s) have cast votes)

How Did You Learn to Program?

1. Self-Taught (24 votes [45.28%])

Percentage of vote: 45.28%

2. High School Computer Science Class (7 votes [13.21%])

Percentage of vote: 13.21%

3. College Computer Science Class (10 votes [18.87%])

Percentage of vote: 18.87%

4. Other (2 votes [3.77%])

Percentage of vote: 3.77%

5. Asking questions at DIC (3 votes [5.66%])

Percentage of vote: 5.66%

6. Answering questions at DIC (7 votes [13.21%])

Percentage of vote: 13.21%

What academic credentials do you have?

1. None/high school diploma/other (9 votes [30.00%])

Percentage of vote: 30.00%

2. Masters degree in CS or related field (1 votes [3.33%])

Percentage of vote: 3.33%

3. Bachelors degree in CS or related field (8 votes [26.67%])

Percentage of vote: 26.67%

4. Certificate in CS or related field (4 votes [13.33%])

Percentage of vote: 13.33%

5. Masters degree in non-CS field (2 votes [6.67%])

Percentage of vote: 6.67%

6. Bachelors degree in non-CS field (3 votes [10.00%])

Percentage of vote: 10.00%

7. Certificate in non-CS field (3 votes [10.00%])

Percentage of vote: 10.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

[Link] StackOverflow Survey: Nearly Half of Developers Self-Taught

Posted 06 June 2015 - 10:44 AM

This article highlights a StackOverflow survey, in which developers could voluntarily respond. About 48% of developers reported never having received a CS degree.