8 Replies - 1038 Views - Last Post: 16 June 2015 - 09:17 AM

• D.I.C Addict
  • member icon

• View blog

A Felony Conviction

Posted 11 June 2015 - 12:37 PM

I hope this constitutes a post in this section guys.

Well I'm twenty two years old, coming up on twenty three. I've had a love of computers for as long as I can remember, I have been on them constantly since like the age of five. Now I'm interested in a career with computers and specifically something related to some sort of programming. I'm currently learning C++ now and am enjoying the challenges it's bringing, as well as the possiblities that could come from learning a programming language.

A little history, I graduated high school with Honor Roll grades and even was advanced in math and completed a college Spanish course while in high school and aced it. Always had great grades. Well I also did a lot of drugs. Eventually when I was nineteen I was convicted of a federal felony for distributing Heroin. I just got done doing my time a little while ago and am now, like I said, studying programming.

My question comes to the part about getting hired and job options. I'm curious for you programmers out there that do this as a career. First off, do you work for a company or did you do your own thing? Do you know any felons that work in the industry? How do you feel it would affect me in a field of computers? I am thinking it's at least a LITTLE different than if I was going to apply to be a pharmacy tech.. Haha. Umm, and maybe if anyone out there actually has ever hired people, if they are good in their language, able to work well with people, and educated, is a felony something that would scare you off completely? It happened when I was nineteen, so I know the further I make it in life, the further the conviction is behind me. I'm just curious as to if anyone has some sort of insight. I would really appreciate hearing anything you guys have to say on the subject.

Thanks,
Chris