3 Replies - 616 Views - Last Post: 20 June 2015 - 05:02 PM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Strategy For checking characters in text adventure

Posted 19 June 2015 - 03:28 PM

I'm typing this from my phone right now so I'm afraid I don't have any code to post, and I'm new to programming as well so try to go easy on me ;)/>

Anyway so I'm developing a text adventure in c sharp so that I can get better at programming. Right now I've got a combat system and locations and sub locations working so I think I'm off to a good start. However there are two areas I am a little unsure of and I've ran into a bit of a problem.

So I want there to be characters in my game that the player can talk to, battle, and get quests from. I wanted these characters to not be static and be able to move around to different towns and sub locations.

However due to the number of characters I want and ther abilities I decided to make a character class like I'd done with locations and transfer variables as I'd Done with locations, to Something called currentcharacter. That way once set. Which would happen every turn I Could go console.writeline (currentcharacter.greeting).

I don't think this will. Work for several reasons.
1. I may want multiple characters interacting at a time.
2. I want more than one character in a place at a time.
3. In c# it is not possible to dynamically go through all instances of a class. This makes it difficult to check every character for their location and see if they are in a place.

I feel like I've written myself into a corner here. Any ideas or strategies on how to handle characters in my game would be helpful, even if I don't use your idea it may help me think k of something else so thank you!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Strategy For checking characters in text adventure

• Xamarin Cert. Dev.
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Strategy For checking characters in text adventure

Posted 19 June 2015 - 04:28 PM