6 Replies - 632 Views - Last Post: 01 July 2015 - 12:03 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Searching for PHP and MySQL tutorials

Posted 29 June 2015 - 08:33 AM

Hello,

I'm looking for some good (and free) PHP and MySQL tutorials.

I'm a computing student and I have become pretty good with HTML and CSS, and also getting my head around Javascript. However I am really lacking in sever-side knowledge. I want to start developing some small websites so I can start building up my portfolio, and to do this I need to start learning PHP and MySQL. I figure the best way to start is to follow some tutorials, but I can't seem to find any good ones that aren't either 10 years old or require some prior server-side knowledge.

Can anyone recommend some good tutorials that are easy to follow and understand for the server-side newbie?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Searching for PHP and MySQL tutorials

#2 macosxnerd101   User is online

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Searching for PHP and MySQL tutorials

Posted 29 June 2015 - 08:44 AM

Check out the following:
Favorite PHP Book
DIC PHP Tutorials
Getting Better at Programming PHP
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 29 June 2015 - 08:47 AM

Thank you, I'll have a read through those :)/>

This post has been edited by Dormilich: 29 June 2015 - 12:45 PM

Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• I think you'll find it's "Dr"
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 29 June 2015 - 08:57 AM

FWIW, PHP isn't the only language you can use on the server - Python, Ruby, Javascript are several that are widely used for the server side of a web application these days. There's nothing wrong with learning PHP, but all I'm saying is that it's not the only language available.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Posted 29 June 2015 - 09:05 AM