6 Replies - 1283 Views - Last Post: 01 July 2015 - 07:52 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Help keeping a few words hidden on resize in html / css

Posted 29 June 2015 - 05:24 PM

Hi. I'm new to web design. I hope this doesn't come off sounding too stupid. I'm in the process of writing a website. I know a little bit of PHP (mainly because I know some C). I kind of like having my website backwards compatible with older browsers. If what I want to do can't be done while preserving the older browsers backward compatibility, I guess I can deal with that.

I'm working on a navigation bar. When the screen is larger (840px or greater), it appears one way. When it's smaller (less than 840px) it appears a different way. When it's on a smaller screen (I'll refer to this mode as the small nav bar from now on), I have a mini menu that hangs off the screen. When the user clicks the small nav bar, the mini menu pops out. It appears to move the whole web page over. I like this affect I believe but I'm having trouble with it.

I start the mini menu links below where the main small nav bar would be. Where the main nav bar would be is where I want the words "Menu Links". Everything works fine when I try it except for one problem. When the screen is small and the small nav bar is showing, if I click it to bring out the mini menu, while the mini-menu is open, if I resize the screen to show the main nav bar again, the words "Menu Links" stay visible until I hit F5 to refresh the page. Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong and how to fix it?

You can view the page and the source at http://JetBBS.com/test2.html the css is http://JetBBS.com/css/style.css and the little bit of jQuery is at http://JetBBS.com/js/click.js