QA as a career path?

• (2 Pages)
  • +

21 Replies - 3605 Views - Last Post: 27 September 2016 - 07:32 AM

• D.I.C Head

• View blog

QA as a career path?

Posted 01 July 2015 - 08:50 PM

I've been a QA/Software Tester intern since May and honestly, there hasn't been any "eureka" moments during the experience as opposed to when I'm coding and learning something new and exciting in short intervals of time. It appears what I'm doing as QA can be easily done by someone who isn't even in the ComSci/IT field. Some testers here were previously call center agents, accountants, and in business admin. There isn't much growth in being QA - this coming from a current employee in the company (for 6 years) I'm an intern in.

Before a war is waged, I don't mean to offend anyone or incite a QA vs. Dev war. I chose to ask this question for clarification and objective (!butthurt) comments on the matter. I'm not sure if it's due to the fact I'm an intern that I feel like I'm doing menial "testing jobs" (e.g. account registration, log in, etc. - something anyone can do) so I want to hear what QA is supposed to be like - professionally.

Who is in Software Quality Assurance here? How is it as an IT career path?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: QA as a career path?

• Senior Systems Engineer
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: QA as a career path?

Posted 01 July 2015 - 09:10 PM

I am not QA not have I been , but look at it this way; your foot is in the door. Your first step would be to move from intern to employed. Then, if you don't like what you are doing, work to move into another role, if you want to dev, talk to them and make your name known in the department. When a position comes available, apply for it. Just because you are in that position now, does not mean that you have to stay in the same role.
Was This Post Helpful? 0
  • +
  • -

• Games, Graphs, and Auctions
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 01 July 2015 - 09:27 PM