2 Replies - 1583 Views - Last Post: 13 July 2015 - 05:33 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Career advice for middle age software developers

Posted 12 July 2015 - 08:22 PM

I hope I am at the right place.

I am a software developer in my mid-40s. I have been doing software development for nearly twenty years now, starting from embedded programming in C and assembly language then to Object Oriented programming in C++ and finally to the current position of .NET and C# in Enterprise software. I did reasonably well academically when I was in school and I went into the software because I pride myself to be a good problem-solver with above average analytic skill, even though I am far from being computer savvy.

I did okay professionally with my capability and I am not ashamed to say that I am quite apt in troubleshooting and debugging, which has kept me gainfully employed throughout my 20s and 30s. However, the last few years I fear that my strength can no longer keep me competitive as I slipped into middle age. I feel that in my position, instead of just being a problem solver I am expected to be more creative and innovative, to think outside of the box that would keep defect from gestating. My performance review is usually that I meet the companyís expectation most of the time with the work I was assigned, that I am a diligent worker and good at following direction, but there is also the usual criticism that I didnít make myself visible enough and lack of ambition. Such review although didnít exactly put me in the bad light it certainly doesnít make me stand out.