9 Replies - 1497 Views - Last Post: 23 September 2015 - 06:10 PM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

What skills do I need to build a website with some back-end output

Posted 21 August 2015 - 06:10 PM

So. I have a project/idea that needs a website, which will be a responsive design, and will have some forms for the users to fill out. I will need to capture that data and have it accessible.

I am a novice programmer, but have been consuming a lot of free online resources - I've gotten myself to a basic level in HTML / CSS, Javascript, and a crappier level in python. I've built basic stuff with all of them, nothing crazy. I'm pretty decent at logic and learning new STUFF so if I need something else as part of the answer, please don't hesitate to say so, I'm willing!

So the question(s):

1 Will I be able to build a responsive website as a novice? Should I use a framework? Any pointers?

2 The website will have forms / textfields to fill in and I need to capture that data - how do I do this? Do I use a back-end language like Python - or should I learn something like PHP? Which one is recommended? Where do I store the data? (do domain providers have storage usually, or do I put it on my computer, or have to buy server space? - It won't be a ton of data)

3 For a basic website with a few pages, and maybe 4 pages of forms to fill out, how long does this sound like it will take for a newbie?

I know I could pay someone, but I'm using this as a learning experience for coding on top of the project itself, so I don't mind if it takes a bit longer.

Thanks for any help / advice!

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: What skills do I need to build a website with some back-end output

• Programming Theoretician
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: What skills do I need to build a website with some back-end output

Posted 21 August 2015 - 08:18 PM