9 Replies - 1679 Views - Last Post: 30 August 2015 - 07:13 AM Rate Topic: -----

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

How do I use my console application for real?

Posted 28 August 2015 - 12:56 PM

I'm a total beginner who started study programming one year ago. And though I have studied a whole year now, I have this pretty embarrising question. (I'm actually rather disappointed that this wasn't clearer in my courses, since the education I'm attending had no special knowledge demand in programming.) Anyway... my question:

One of my courses was programming in C#, where we learned to program console applications in Visual Studio. Fine. But! My question is: how do I use that? How do I make it "real"? Do I use a special program to use my C# code in a graphic layout?

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: How do I use my console application for real?

#2 modi123_1   User is online

• Suitor #2
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: How do I use my console application for real?

Posted 28 August 2015 - 01:00 PM

Ideally you would make a new solution, but pick a wpf or winform solution. Visual Studios sets up your GUI references for you. Depending on what you wrote you can porting functionality and methods over and start wiring it up to your UI objects.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• Home Owner
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 August 2015 - 01:12 PM

What Modi said, or if you are in my line of business and most of your projects don't need a UI you just install them as a service and set up a scheduler to run them, or in my case they are triggered from some watched directories.
Was This Post Helpful? 1
  • +
  • -

• (╯□)╯︵ (~ .o.)~
  • member icon

• View blog

Posted 28 August 2015 - 01:56 PM

I'd suggest against calling a console application "not real". I've been a professional developer for the better part of a decade now, and I have written way more console applications than I have client apps with a GUI, that have been used for a real purpose.