9 Replies - 676 Views - Last Post: 11 September 2015 - 08:06 AM

• New D.I.C Head

• View blog

Does this make sense, help me verify my understanding!

Posted 08 September 2015 - 12:11 PM

Ok since I'm relatively new to web development I'm trying to wrap my head around the plethora of systems and options available. What I want verification on is my understanding of all the available platforms for web developers.

So if I'm correct.

Things like Plone, WordPress and Joomla are all content delivery systems. They allow you to deliver multimedia, website management and security overhead a website framework.

Things like Boostrap, KickStart and Boilerplate are website frameworks. They offer an empty website shell with vendor specific eye-candy and functions so that you can rapidly customize and build a site without fumbling around with back-end nonsense.

A CDN is an archived network of ready-made scripts which are sourceable directly from the web without having to host them on your own system/server thereby increasing the browseable speed of a website.

JQueary/Javascript plugins can be sourced online, included within script tags in your main HTML document and referenced for added functionality on a website. Like officially released code snippets?

If I'm correct about frameworks, are there any which you can recommend that have an inherent bonus towards portfolio/picture orientated websites?

Finally, if you're hardcore you don't need any of these things and could theoretically develop a site from scratch..?

Thanks, and sorry for this absolutely n00by list of questions.

Is This A Good Question/Topic? 0
  • +

Replies To: Does this make sense, help me verify my understanding!

• D.I.C Lover
  • member icon

• View blog

Re: Does this make sense, help me verify my understanding!

Posted 08 September 2015 - 12:24 PM

There's a whole lot you could say for each, but in short:

- Yes